À mon propos
EN
|
FR

Range Rover Velar

COmpétences

Design d'interface
Design d'interaction
UX Design

DAte

Avril 2018

Équipe

Justine Wargnier - UI/UX Design
Faly Quénéa- UI/UX Design
Anaëlle Ho Thanh - UI/UX Design
Orianne Delerue - UI/UX Design
Dans un monde de plus en plus connecté, les voitures sont un environnement propice à l'innovation et aux nouvelles technologies. Bonnes ou mauvaises, ces additions influencent notre comportement en voiture et change notre perception de la conduite. Suivant ce phénomène, les interfaces de nos voitures sont devenues de plus en plus polluées par des fonctionnalités pas forcément utiles et qui ne mettent plus l'accent sur l'objectif principal : conduire en toute sécurité.

Problématique

Et si nous décidions de prendre le contrepied de cette tendance et de designer une interface qui est presque invisible au conducteur, tout en lui procurant une expérience de conduite la plus fluide possible ?
Pour ce projet j'ai choisi la voiture Range Rover Velar. C'est un bon exemple de voiture moderne, haut de gamme qui se veut propice à l'innovation dans le domaine de la conduite. Elle possède un dashboard complètement digital et deux écrans centraux tactiles.
Illustration of a car from above
Picture of the inside of the Range Rover Velar with our screensPicture of the inside of the Range Rover Velar with our screens

Colors

deep grey
sea green
greeny grey
pearly pink
#51545E
#ceeddb
#c9d2d7
#f7eee5
Deep grey
#51545E
sea green
#CEEDDB
Greeny grey
#C9D2D7
pearly pink
#F7EEE5

Typographies

Overpass.
Lato.

Branding

Branding

Une des étapes la plus important du processus de design était ici de définir l'identité graphique que j'allais donner à l'interface. Les couleurs devaient être légères et relaxantes pour ne pas inciter le conducteur à détourner ses yeux de la route, mais il ne fallait pas non plus qu'elles soient ternes au risque que le conducteur manque des informations essentielles. Le challenge était le même pour le choix des typographies qui devaient être extrêment bien lisibles tout en gardant l'univers moderne et luxueux du Range Rover Velar.

Design

Design

Entre les sièges conducteur et passager, il y a un écran central divisé en deux parties qui a été conçu de façon à ne pas perturber le conducteur mais à lui donner la meilleure expérience possible durant sa conduite. Le GPS est dépourvu d'informations inutiles qui pourrait le perturber. Dès qu'il passe en marche arrière, l'écran change pour afficher l'aider au parking anti-collision.
Central screen with the GPS
GIF of the central screens
Central screen with parameters of the vehicle
Le dashboard a été designé de façon à ne pousser que les informations utiles au bon moment et rien d'autre. Le conducteur ne voit que ce dont il a besoin de voir à chaque étape de son trajet.
GIF of the dahsboard
Home screen of the app
L'interface de la voiture va de pair avec une application mobile qui permet au conducteur d'enregistrer ses préférences et préparer son trajet à l'avance pour ne plus perdre de temps.
Parameters screen of the app
Seat positionning screen of the app
Emergency screen of the app

About me

Range Rover Velar

Skills

UI Design
Interaction Design
UX Design

DAte

April, 2018

Team

Justine Wargnier - UI/UX Design
Faly Quénéa- UI/UX Design
Anaëlle Ho Thanh - UI/UX Design
Orianne Delerue - UI/UX Design
In a more and more connected world, cars are a good environment for innovation and new technologies. Good or bad, all these additions influence our rides and change our perception of driving. Following this phenomenon, car’s interfaces became cluttered and less focused on the main aspect : driving safely.

Issue

What if we took the opposing view of it and designed interfaces that are almost invisible to the user and still gives him the most fluent experience possible ?
For this project we chose the Range Rover Velar. It is a good example of a modern, upper-class car that strives for innovative driving. It has a fully digital dashboard and two-touch sensitive central screens.
Illustration of a car from above
Picture of the inside of the Range Rover Velar with our screensPicture of the inside of the Range Rover Velar with our screens

Colors

deep grey
sea green
greeny grey
pearly pink
#51545E
#ceeddb
#c9d2d7
#f7eee5
Deep grey
#51545E
sea green
#CEEDDB
Greeny grey
#C9D2D7
pearly pink
#F7EEE5

Typographies

Overpass.
Lato.

Branding

Branding

One of the most important step of this design process was to define the identity we were about to give to the interfaces. The colors needed to be clean and relaxing to don’t incite the driver to take his eyes off the road, but also not to dull to risk to make the driver miss some information. Same challenge for the typographies that needed to be extremely readable but also needed to have a modern and classy feeling to match the
Velar’s universe.

Design

Design

In between the driver and the passenger seats, there is a central screen divided in two parts that we designed in order to not disturb the driver, but to help him get the best experience possible during his drive. The GPS is striped off of too much informations that would get you lost each time you would look at the road. As soon as you go into reverse, the parking assistance appears to avoid collision.
Central screen with the GPS
GIF of the central screens
Central screen with parameters of the vehicle
We designed a straightforward dashboard that pushed the right information at the right time, nothing else. It’s not cluttered with informations that are not useful to you at the moment you are driving. You only see what you need to see.
GIF of the dahsboard
Home screen of the app
The car interface goes hand in hand with a mobile application that allows you to set your preferences and prepare your drive ahead and to not loose any second !
Parameters screen of the app
Seat positionning screen of the app
Emergency screen of the app