A mon propos
EN
|
FR

Other way

Compétences

Design d'interface
Identité de marque
Illustration
UX Design

DAte

Novembre 2018

ÉQUIPE

Justine Wargnier - UI/UX Design
Cécile Tournier- UI/UX Design
Anaëlle Ho Thanh - UI/UX Design
Il y a quelques années, toutes les applications mobiles, en particulier les réseaux sociaux, ont été conçues de sorte à ce que nous devenions accros et que nous y passions le plus de temps possible. On a tous vécu l'expérience de scroller notre feed Instagram ou Pinterest pendant ce qu'il nous semblait 4 ou 5 minutes, pour finalement y passer plus d'une heure. Depuis des années, une réelle dépendance s'est développée entre le monde digital et nous.

Problèmatique

Comment rompre cette dépendance au monde digital dans notre vie de tous les jours ?
J'ai choisi le cas du GPS (dans le cas des déplacements à pied uniquement).
En effet, je suis la première concernée par ce problème car je n'ai aucun sens de l'orientation et il me paraît impossible de me diriger sans mon GPS.
Illustration of a man with a compass
Map of Paris, zoomed on Gare Du NordMap of Paris, zoomed on Gare Du Nord

Collecte de données utilisateurs

J'ai commencé ce projet avec une étude ethnographique à la gare du Nord de Paris, où j'y ai questionné quelques personnes à propos de leurs habitudes lors de leurs trajets à pied. Au début de ce projet, je pensais que tout le monde pouvait être concerné. Mais au fur et à mesure des interviews, une audience particulière a commencé à émerger : les digital natives. J'ai donc affiné mes interviews pour me focaliser principalement sur cette cible. En parallèle de ces interviews en physique, j'ai lancé un questionnaire Google Form pour collecter des données à la fois quantitatives & qualitatives.

J'ai ensuite analysé ces données pour les traduires en cartes d'opportunités. Chaque carte regroupe des insights utilisateurs ainsi qu'une potentielle réponse au problème formulé.

Collecte de données

Opportunity card 1 : A GPS without a map but with a compass
Opportunity card 1 : A visual GPS that reteached us our sens of direction
Opportunity card 1 : A GPS that offers a short printed summary ahead of the journey
Parmi les différentes pistes qui se sont dessinées, j'ai choisi de poursuivre l'idée du GPS visuel parce que c'est celle qui collait le plus à notre problème initial qui était de se rendre moins dépendant du digital. En effet, malgré le fait que ce soit une application mobile, le but intrinsèque de ce GPS visuel est de nous (ré)apprendre à nous repérer par nous-mêmes et apprécier notre trajet en pleine conscience plutôt que d'avoir le nez rivé sur notre téléphone. Le but, à terme, est de ne plus avoir besoin de l'application pour se déplacer.

Wireframes

Wireframes

Après cette étude ethnographique, j'ai listé les fonctionnalités principales de l'application et j'ai commencé à penser les wireframes ainsi que les parcours utilisateurs pour clarifier mes idées :
Wireframes and user flow of the app

Colors

Electric Purple
Silly orange
Blueish grey light
Blueish grey medium
Blueish grey dark
#5208fc
#FF6A2A
#E5E8F7
#8B92B5
#353847
Electric purple
#5208FC
Silly orange
#FF6A2A
Blueish grey light
#E5E8F7
Blueish grey medium
#8B92B5
BLUEISH GREY DARK
#353847

Typographies

Circular Std.
Montserrat.

Branding

Branding

Une fois les wireframes validés, j'ai défini une identité de marque propre à l'application : des couleurs vives et dynamiques pour créer un univers ludique et motivant. Cela a également impacté les choix typographiques, avec des polices classiques en apparences mais avec des petits détails arrondis qui donnent cette ambiance chaleureuse.

Design

Design

Le design de l'application est simple et clair, dépourvu de détails inutiles. L'emphase est mise sur la fonctionnalité principale de l'application, qui est de paramétrer son trajet et de pouvoir le visualiser pour tenter de mémoriser les repères visuels, avant de ranger notre téléphone dans notre poche.
GPS screen
Another screen that shows the recap of the journey
Screen that shows the recap of the journey
Screen that tells you to put your phone in your pocket and to start walking
Si l'on est perdu, on peut bien sûr obtenir de l'aide soit au travers d'un indice, soit en revoyant entièrement le parcours à nouveau. De plus, si l'on part dans la mauvaise direction, le téléphone vibre et envoie une notification à l'utilisateur pour l'informer de son erreur.
Help screen
Clue screen
Screen that appears at the end of the journey and congratulates the user
A la fin du trajet, l'application félicite l'utilisateur et lui montre combien de temps il a passé à regarder son téléphone. L'objectif est d'encourager et absolument pas de blâmer ni de décourager l'utilisateur, mais plutôt de lui donner envie de persévérer et de faire mieux la prochaine fois.
Un onboarding simple et clair permet aux nouveaux utilisateurs de comprendre rapidement le fonctionnement du GPS. Les illustrations ont été réalisées sur la bases des ressources gratuites de DrawKit & Undraw.
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration with a man and a compass
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration with a man that shows an image
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration of a man that walks towards a point of interest

About me

Other way

Skills

UI Design
Branding
Illustration
UX Design

DAte

November, 2018

Team

Justine Wargnier - UI/UX Design
Cécile Tournier- UI/UX Design
Anaëlle Ho Thanh - UI/UX Design
Few years ago, all mobile applications, especially social networks, were designed so that we would become addicted to it and spend more and more time on our phone. We all experienced looking at our Instagram or Pinterest for what seemed like 4 ou 5 minutes, but ending up spending an hour lying on our couch just scrolling. Since years, a real dependency has grown between the digital world and us.

Issue

How to detach ourselves from the digital in our everyday life ?
We chose the GPS case regarding our trips while moving on foot.
Indeed, we were all three concerned with this issue as we have no clue how to go from one place to another without our GPS.
Illustration of a man with a compass
Map of Paris, zoomed on Gare Du NordMap of Paris, zoomed on Gare Du Nord

Collecting insights

We started this project with an ethnographic study at Paris’s Gare du Nord, where we questioned several people on their habits when going somewhere on foot. At first, we didn’t had any particular target in mind, we thought this app could benefit everyone at every stage in their life. But as we went along the interviews, we realized that it was primarily the digital natives that were impacted by this phenomenon, so we focused our interviews along these profiles. Simultaneously, we launched a Google Form study so we could collect qualitative and quantitative data.

We then analyzed and summarized all the data we collected to translate them into opportunity cards. Each card gathers insights with a formulated issue and a potential answer.

Collecting
insights

Opportunity card 1 : A GPS without a map but with a compass
Opportunity card 1 : A visual GPS that reteached us our sens of direction
Opportunity card 1 : A GPS that offers a short printed summary ahead of the journey
We decided to develop the visual GPS idea because it was the one that suited the most our initial issue, which was to detach ourselves to the digital. Actually, despite the fact that it is an application, this GPS aims to relearn us to find our way by ourselves and to enjoy the trip as a walk instead of staying focused on our phone all way long. The purpose over time is that the user doesn’t need the application anymore.

Wireframes

Wireframes

After that, we listed the main functionalities of our application and started to design wireframes as well as a user flow to set up our ideas :
Wireframes and user flow of the app

Colors

Electric Purple
Silly orange
Blueish grey light
Blueish grey medium
Blueish grey dark
#5208fc
#FF6A2A
#E5E8F7
#8B92B5
#353847
Electric purple
#5208FC
Silly orange
#FF6A2A
Blueish grey light
#E5E8F7
Blueish grey medium
#8B92B5
BLUEISH GREY DARK
#353847

Typographies

Circular Std.
Montserrat.

Branding

Branding

Once the wireframes have been validated by the entire team, we defined the univers and identity of our application : we agreed upon a vivid and dynamic color palette because we wanted to create a playful and thrilling environment. It also impacted our typographic choice, with classic fonts with small rounded details that gives them a warm feeling.

Design

Design

Our designs are simple and striped down of unnecessary details. We emphasized the main functionality that is to configure our journey and to view it before putting our phone away to try to memorize visual landmarks and find them.
GPS screen
Another screen that shows the recap of the journey
Screen that shows the recap of the journey
Screen that tells you to put your phone in your pocket and to start walking
If we are lost, we can obtain help either from a clue, either by reseeing the entire journey again. Also, if we go in the wrong direction, the phone will vibrate and send a notification that will inform us of our mistake.
Help screen
Clue screen
Screen that appears at the end of the journey and congratulates the user
At the end of our journey, the app congratulates us and tells us how much time we spent looking at our phone. The goal is to support and definitely not to blame, to not discourage the user and give him the desire to do better next each time.
A clear and simple onboarding allows new users to understand quickly the operating of the app. The illustrations were designed based of DrawKit & Undraw’s free bases.
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration with a man and a compass
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration with a man that shows an image
Onboarding screen 1 : illustration of a man that walks towards a point of interest